politics

I have never been very vocal in social media about my political views until recently. Last year before the official date of filing for candidacy for Philippines election 2016, there were calls and rumors that our beloved Mayor will run for presidency. That time I really thought that he should not decide or pursue this, knowing that governing the entire Philippine versus a city is different. People might even misunderstood his ‘rough’ personality. Davao is safer and cleaner than most cities. We owe this to his leadership. He has empowered Dabawenyos to be law abiding citizens. We are not perfect and will never be – but we have definitely improved! We cross the streets using pedestrian lanes and overpass, we throw our garbage to proper places, we don’t use fireworks on Christmas eve and New Year’s eve, and many more. I live most of my life there and I consider it my home. Fast forward to current events, our beloved Mayor is leading the surveys 3 weeks before the election day. He is attacked by most media and I feel so emotional that our Tatay is being bashed for the wrong accusations. He may have a foul mouth, we might never changed that. However, despite the roughness, he has a heart for the Filipino people. And I have felt his sincerity ever since.

Anyway, it does not matter who will our leader be, change always start within us. I am earnestly praying for a safe and peaceful election on May 9. Ending this post with a verse.

If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. ~2 Chronicles 7:14

Shalom! ^_^

Leave a comment